Summary

Serbia and the Division of Yugoslavia in 1941

The formal act of the capitulation of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia, which was military defeated after a short-termed 'April war', took part on 17th April 1941. This 'regulation' was, in fact, the act of capitulation, and it served Germany to declare that the state of Yugoslavia had disappeared, contrary to the International Public Law. The final division of the defeated Yugoslavia was performed according to the Vienna Agreements and the agreements of Joachim von Ribbentrop and Galeazo Ciano. Yugoslavia was divided by the four powers: Germany, Italy, Bulgaria and Hungary. Serbia was under the military-occupying regime, paying contributions.